A Waite scientist will be honoured in this years’ Australian Women in Wine Awards with all the finalists in the Researcher of the Year category based here at the Waite, for the second year in a row.

The Australian Women In Wine Awards acknowledges and rewards the work of women in the Australian wine community, and community leaders who champion equality and fairness for all sexes in the workplace. The eight awards on offer this year are in the categories of Winemaker of the Year, Viticulturist of the Year, Owner/Operator of the Year, Workplace Champion of Change, Researcher of the Year, Cellar Door Person of the Year, Marketer of the Year, and Woman of Inspiration Award.

The Researcher of the Year category recognises an individual or team who have demonstrated excellence in the field of grape and/or wine research. The 2017 finalists in this category are:

Waite Researchers Dr Roberta De Bei & Dr Cassandra Collins from the University of Adelaide School of AFW won this award last year for their work developing tools for canopy management and early yield prediction in grapevine.

Professor Eileen Scott, University of Adelaide School of AFW, has also been named a finalist in the Workplace Champion of Change category. This award, open to both businesses and individuals (male and female), recognises those who have provided outstanding support and advocacy for women in the industry and/or have been instrumental in implementing female friendly work practices.

The awards will be announced at a ceremony at Australia House in London, and will be streamed via a live internet broadcast on Tuesday 26 September at 10am British Summer Time (BST) / 7:00pm AEST.

Best of luck to all of you!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This