Several members of the School of Agriculture, Food and Wine at Waite have been recently recognised in various awards and fellowships. Congratulations to all of the following for your well deserved prizes.

Dr Beth Loveys and Dr Karina Riggs have been awarded University of Adelaide Beacon Commendations for the Enhancement and Innovation of Student Learning. This award recognises the diverse range of activities, services and programs that contribute to student learning and engagement at the University of Adelaide, and the important role that staff from all areas of the University have in supporting us to achieve our strategic goals in learning and teaching.

Emi Schutz has received a 2018 Endeavour Research Fellowship that will enable her to spend six months at the University of Calgary in Canada. Administered by the Australian Government Department of Education and Training, the Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships are merit-based scholarships and fellowships providing opportunities for Australians to undertake study, research or professional development overseas and for overseas citizens to do the same in Australia.

Dr Natalie Betts is a recipient of the 2018 Barbara Kidman Women’s Fellowship. This Fellowship Scheme is designed to support female academics to enhance and promote their career.

PhD student James Cowley was recognised in the University of Adelaide Volunteer Achievement Awards for his work with the Children’s University Australia.

Dr Michelle Wirthensohn has received funding under Adelaide Enterprise’s Commercial Accelerator Scheme. This program provides financial support for commercialisation activities and translation of research.

At the Faculty of Sciences end of year Celebrations, Dr Stephanie Watts-Williams was awarded on Order of Merit in the Edith Dornwell Medal for Early Career Research Excellence, Professor Matthew Gilliham was named winner of the The 2017 Mid-Career Research Excellence Award, and Dr Richard Muhlack won an Excellence in Teaching Award – for less than five years’ experience.

The winner of the KP Barley Prize for 2017 is Onesmus Kitonyo. This prize is awarded on the basis of research performance to a postgraduate student within the areas of Agriculture and Natural Resource Sciences who holds an Honours degree or equivalent, and who has been enrolled for not less than one year.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This