Congratulations to Dr Jayakumar Bose and PhD student Joanne Gambetta from the School of Agriculture, Food and Wine here at the Waite, who were among the winners of the Faculty of Sciences Awards on 16 December.

Jayakumar was awarded the Daniel Walker Medal, an Early Career Research Excellence Award for male staff up to five years post PhD. This prize is named after Danial Walker who was the first male BSc graduate of the University of Adelaide in 1887 with a major in chemistry. Jayakumar’s research is predominantly in the field of plant stress physiology and he is also a recipient of Australian Research Council – Discovery Early Career Research Award (DECRA 2017).

Joanne is the recipient of the KP Barley Prize awarded to a candidate for a postgraduate degree within the areas of Agriculture and Natural Resource Sciences in the Faculty of Sciences who holds an Honours degree or equivalent qualifications, who has been enrolled for not less than one year and who, at the time of the closing date for applications, is still undertaking research for the degree. The prize is awarded in memory of the late Keith Percival J. Barley, Reader in Agronomy in the University from 1955 to 1975.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This