A fresh suite of grants, awards and scholarships are now on offer through the AW Howard Memorial Trust Inc.

The Trust’s various awards encourage and promote research and investigation in the fields of natural science and social science (including economics) which relate to the development, management and use of pastures.

Applications are currently being sought for AW Howard Memorial Trust Early-Career Research Grants, Grants-In-Aid, Honours and Masters Scholarships, Study Awards, and Pastoral Industry Extension Awards:

• Early-Career Research Grants support research activities that improve the development, management and use of pastures. Grants are limited to $15,000 each.

• Grants-In-Aid, limited to $5000 each, are awarded to projects that: commemorate important contributions to pastoral sciences or industry; distribute scientific innovations to develop pasture use within Australia’s regions; invite prominent overseas pasture scientists to Australia to deliver keynote addresses at relevant conferences or visit regional scientists and community groups involved in pastoral industries; or need essential equipment for pastoral scientific research and development.

• Honours and Masters Scholarships are for projects that facilitate pasture research. Each scholarship offers a stipend of $5000 and operating expenses of $3000. Eligible recipients must be intending to commence approved Honours or Masters tertiary studies with any Australian university.

• Study Awards of up to $5000 are awarded to scientists to undertake overseas study tours or participate in national or international conferences. Tours and conferences must be related to pasture research and within the aims of the Trust.

• The Pastoral Industry Extension Study Awards, worth up to $20,000 each, aim to support study tours that examine successful grazing systems and practices and have the potential to benefit Australian pastoral industries and rural communities.

The not-for-profit AW Howard Memorial Trust has awarded more than 400 grants of various descriptions since it was established in 1964 by the then Australian Institute of Agricultural Science (now Ag Institute Australia) through donations from benefactors.
The Trust is managed by a committee drawn from Ag Institute Australia, The Australian Agricultural and Resource Economics Society, the University of Adelaide, the South Australian Research and Development Institute which is a division of the SA Department of Primary Industries and Regions (PIRSA) and scientists experienced in crops and pastures including tropical pastures.

Applications for all the afore mentioned awards close on March 31. Application forms are available on the Trust’s website here. More information is available via the Trust’s executive officer. 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This