Waite Research Institute Director, Professor Matt Gilliham, has been appointed to the new Premier’s Science and Innovation Council.

The 10 members of the council, selected for their expertise and knowledge in science, research and innovation, will provide advice to the State Government on the strategic priorities and major advances in science and technology to drive the State’s growth agenda.

Premier Steven Marshall said that the role of the Council is “to provide input on the performance of the state’s science, research and innovation strategic plan, analyse international and national imperatives and emerging technologies, and consider market responses that provide opportunities for South Australia.

“Importantly, they will also champion diversity in the science workforce and monitor the progress of South Australia in the delivery of the national Women in STEM Decadal Plan.”

The 10 members are:

  • Professor Caroline McMillen (Chair), Chief Scientist for South Australia
  • Philip Marcus Clark AO, Director, Food Agility Cooperative Research Centre
  • Professor Matthew Gilliham, Director, Waite Research Institute & School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, University of Adelaide
  • Associate Professor Sarah Harmer-Bassell, Director for Flinders Microscopy and Microanalysis
  • Professor Emily Hilder, Director, Future Industries Institute University of South Australia
  • Professor Andre Luiten, Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing Director – Chair of Experimental Physics, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Sanjay Mazumdar, Partner, Innovation, Digital and Data, KPMG Australia.
  • Dr Julie Phillip, Chair AusBiotech CEO and Executive Director, BioDiem Ltd
  • Professor Steve Wesselingh, Executive Director, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI)
  • Beth Worrall, National Skills Program Lead Microsoft

The Premier’s Science and Innovation Council replaces the SA Science Council, which was chaired by the former Chief Scientist Dr Leanna Read until March 2018.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This