The Adelaide Convention Bureau (ACB) last week announced the five winners of its third round of Conventions Adelaide Grant Awards at a city event attended by 100 industry leaders.

Chief Scientist for South Australia, Professor Caroline McMillen, chaired the selection panel and presented the awards, two of which went to agricultural science opportunities led by Waite researchers. Professor Vladimir Jiranek and A/Professor Cassandra Collins each won ACB support for their yeast and terroir conference bids respectively. The other winners included an event on social issues (David Pearson, The Don Dunstan Foundation) and two in the health/life sciences (Dr Chee Wee Tan, Haematology, RAH, and Dr Len Turczynowicz, Public Health, The University of Adelaide).

The awards, supported by the Adelaide Convention Centre and the SA Tourism Commission, are designed to support sector leaders and specialists in developing successful bids to host international conferences in their fields in Adelaide. The five recipients’ events will have a combined estimated economic benefit of $12m to South Australia.

The strong result for Waite agricultural scientists in this field builds on the Waite Research Institute’s engagement with the ACB, which brings national and international sector influencers to Waite for a site visit as part of their annual Agriculture, Food & Wine Showcase. Congratulations to Vlad and Cas on their wins!

Pictured L-R: David Pearson, Dr Chee Wee, Professor Caroline McMillen, Professor Vladimir Jiranek, A/Professor Cassandra Collins and Dr Len Turczynowicz

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This