Conducted every year since 1979, the Australian Nationa Amateur Wine and Beer Show (ANAWBS) is co-hosted by the Adelaide and Blackwood Amateur Winemakers and Brewers Clubs. It offers the opportunity for all interested amateur winemakers and brewers to have their wines and beers assessed by qualified judges and compared with the efforts of other amateurs in an atmosphere of friendly competition.

This year saw 523 entries from 77 individual exhibitors from all states and territories except the Northern Territory. 156 beers were assessed in 16 classes, and 367 wines in 24 classes. Judging took place over several days in the Waite’s Wine Sensory lab in the Southern Barns.

The School of Agriculture, Food and Wine (SAFW) and the Australian Wine Research Institute (AWRI) here at the Waite were proud to continue their association with the ANAWBS, and support the awards as sponsors in 2017. Martin Day from the AWRI served as a judge in the Wine competition this year and Professor Mike Keller (SAFW) was on hand to present some of the winners’ trophies.

The 2017 awards were presented at an event at the Charles Hawker Conference Centre on Sunday 1st October. A public tasting session followed.

Barry Cranston from NSW took out the AWRI Trophy for the Best Beer of the Show, while Henry Clarke (SA) and Terrance Norwood (VIC) shared the prize for Best Grape Wine of the Show.

For a full list of prize winners, please visit:

Wine competition judging in the Sensory Lab

Bob Morton and Mike Keller at the Awards & tasting event

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This