Australian Grain Technologies Pty Ltd

LOCATION: Level 1, Wine Innovation Central Building, Paratoo Road East, Waite Campus, Urrbrae

Who We Are

Australian Grain Technologies Pty Ltd (AGT) is Australia’s largest wheat breeding company. AGT was established in June 2002 as part of a national initiative to re-focus and re-position Australia’s wheat breeding efforts in a rapidly changing, highly competitive, global economy. The original shareholders of AGT were the Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC), the South Australian Research and Development Institute (SARDI), and the University Adelaide (UA). AGT began by consolidating more than 100 years of wheat breeding activities formerly managed by UA at both the Waite and Roseworthy Campuses with those undertaken by the Victoria Department of Agriculture at Horsham. These south-eastern Australia focussed programs have dominated the total area sown to wheat in Australia for more than 30 years. AGT currently manages four significant regionally based wheat breeding operations at Northam in Western Australia, Narrabri in New South Wales, Wagga Wagga in New South Wales and Roseworthy in South Australia.

AGTs success depends on its ability to meet the current and future needs of the Australian grains industry and the demands of growers and their markets. With comprehensive wheat breeding operations based in each of Australia’s four major wheat production zones, it is a national enterprise based at the Roseworthy and Waite campuses.

AGT is an independent company with governance oversight by a Board.


Our company, Australian Grain Technologies Pty Ltd (AGT) was first established in June 2002 by three shareholders: the Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC), the South Australian Government (PIRSA/SARDI) and the University of Adelaide (UA).

The aim of our inaugural shareholders initially was to ensure the long term future of wheat breeding in South Australia. Wheat breeding in South Australia was formerly undertaken at both the Roseworthy and Waite Campuses of the University of Adelaide. The Roseworthy Campus program is in fact the longest continually run wheat breeding program in Australia, running now for more than 130 years. Our first move was to consolidate these into one very large scale program and thereby create greater critical mass and economies of scale.

In 2002 we licensed the former Victorian Department of Primary Industries wheat breeding program, recruited staff, invested in infrastructure and established a major operating base at Horsham in Victoria. In 2013 we relocated this program to Wagga Wagga in NSW to better balance national logistics, access a larger potential employment pool, and to better serve the needs of growers requiring early sown winter and long season spring varieties.

In 2005 we merged with northern Australian based wheat breeding company SunPrime Seeds. This brought to us significant breeding capacity in northern Australia through the former Sydney University wheat breeding program. In 2007 we entered into a partnership with the Council of Grain Grower Organisations (COGGO) in Western Australia and through this, the license to the intellectual property of the former private wheat breeding company Grain Biotech Australia (GBA). This partnership allowed us to grow our capacity in Western Australia. With COGGO achieving its goal of establishing a viable wheat breeding environment in WA, the partnership was mutually dissolved in 2011.

In 2008 we were successful in winning the license to both the Queensland Department of Primary Industries and the New South Wales Department of Primary Industries long running wheat breeding programs. This has allowed us to strengthen our capacity to deliver benefits to Queensland and New South Wales growers.

Also in 2008 Limagrain, the fourth largest seed company in the world and the most extensive wheat breeder in the world, purchased a minority share in AGT. Limagrain brings to us access to an extensive global germplasm and technology network within a company with a similarly strong grower benefit driven culture.

By entering into several licensing agreements, negotiating a merger and a productive partnership, and through a comprehensive national investment strategy, we have been able to establish a strong and incomparable national presence.

Currently, we have four major plant breeding stations, Northam (WA), Roseworthy (SA), Wagga Wagga (southern NSW) and Narrabri (northern NSW). Breeders and support staff based at each of these centres aim to address the needs of local growers through new and improved varieties. We also have a team of highly skilled regionally based marketing and seed production managers who are continuously seeking feedback from growers on how we can better meet their needs, while an in-house quality assessment laboratory ensures that growers using our varieties can meet the needs of domestic and international markets.

Haydn Kuchel
Chief Executive Officer & Head of Breeding
T. +61 428 817 402

Andrew Cecil
General Manager, Business
T. +61 8 8313 6861

Vicki Kokolakis
Chief Financial Officer
T. +61 88 8313 0812

Ben Jefferies
Senior Officer EPR
T. +61 8 8313 6810

Partner Details

  • Australian Grain Technologies Pty Ltd (AGT)
  • T. 08 8313 0574
  • F. 08 8313 6865
  • E.
  • A. Waite Main Building, Waite Road, Waite Campus, Urrbrae – View on google map
  • Visit Official Website


Sign up to the Women of Waite Network

Providing a forum for women to connect, share, inspire and be inspired. The Waite Research Precinct is full of inspiring women! They are everywhere – working across all disciplines and all the campus partner organisations.

read more

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This